“Voted the Favorite Jewelry Store” and “Best Place to Buy an Engagement Ring” in Murfreesboro. We are the leader in currents jewelry trends and in house jewelry and watch repair. We want people to know we are following the Fashions and Trends of the industry. In 1879, Mr. William R. Bell opened the doors of Bell Jewelers at 8 North Public Square in downtown Murfreesboro, TN. It is likely the man would be pleased to know the business' doors remain open today –over 125 years later- making it the oldest known continuing retail business in Murfreesboro.
Bell Jewelers was originally called William R. Bell & Son which began as a combination jewelry/optical store. The fitting table for eyeglasses is in the middle of the store today.
The original owner died in 1937. The store's operation was then picked up by Mr. Bell's son, James G. Bell, who died at a relatively young age in 1949. In June 1949, the store was sold to John & Cleon Dixon and their two silent partners, V.L. Jennings, Sr. and V.L. Jennings, Jr. of Lebanon, TN. In the 1950's the store made a move to include fine china and gifts along with fine diamond jewelry.
Since the Tidwell's took over, not only have they kept the reputation of carrying fine quality jewelry and gifts, but they have added the gemological expertise unique of most jewelry stores today. In 1986, Bell Jewelers, because of their gemological expertise and fine ethical reputation, earned membership in the distinguished American Gem Society.
On August 4, 1998, Bell Jewelers closed the location at 8 North Public Square and opened their doors at 821 N.W. Broad Street- the former home of Tommy Stump's Exxon Station and across from Jackson Heights Plaza. Preparing to continue to grow in the new millennium and keeping up with Murfreesboro's booming economy, the Tidwell family felt the need for a larger showroom with convenient front door parking for their customers.